RBI to issue Rs.20 Denomination Bank notes Shortly

Rs. 20 denomination banknotes bearing signature of Governor Urjit R Patel are going to get released soon by RBI.

Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 will have the inset letter ‘R’ on both number panels and the year of printing ‘2016’ printed on reverse of the banknote as announced by RBI.


The design and security features are similar to the Rs 20 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series—2005 issued earlier, except that on obverse, the numerals on both number panels will be in ascending size from left to right while the first three alpha-numeric characters (prefix) will remain constant in size.

RBI further mentioned that the numeral 20, RBI seal, Mahatma Gandhi’s portrait, RBI legend, guarantee and promise clause, the governor’s signature and Ashoka Pillar emblem which were hitherto printed in intaglio (raised printing) are now being printed in offset (without any raised printing).

Further, the rectangular identification mark on the left side of the banknote has been removed.

“While there is no change in the colour at the reverse, the colour at the obverse is lighter (due to removal of intaglio printing),” it added.

All the banknotes in the denomination of Rs 20 issued by RBI in the past will continue to be legal tender.




You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *